Wednesday, 14 October 2015

Abak Ward 4 Councilorship position is for Abak Itenge - Chief Ukpe

A royal father in Abak Urban Ward 4 in Abak Local Government Area, Chief Effiong Ukpe has said that the Councillorship position of the Ward in the forthcoming Councillorship Election is for Abak Itenge Vilage.
Chief Effiong Ukpe, an indigene of Ikot Obong Village, Utu Abak, pointed out that since Abak Itienge is the only Village out of the eight Villages in the Ward that has never produced and elected Councilor,  Abak Itenge should be given the opportunity to produce the next Councilor to represent the Ward. “Since Abak Itenge is the only village out of the eight villages in the Ward that has never tested the councillorship seat, and for justice, equity and fair play, they should be given the opportunity to produce the next councilor of the ward,” the royal father reasoned.

He explained that the people of Abak Itenge have over the years been actively involved in all the electioneering processes, voting massively for the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at all levels since the return of democracy in 1999. “So it is the turn of the people of Abak Urban Ward 4 to rise up in the spirit of “dakkada initiative” and join hands together to support Abak Itenge to produce a credible and competent Councilor who would be able to give the people of the Ward effective and qualitative representation,” Chief Ukpe stated.
He expressed the hope that the Zoning Committee made up of men and women of proven integrity would be fair and transparent in their decision and should shun sentiment. “The Chairman of the zoning Committee, Bishop Awasiakan Otong and the Secretary, Hon Macaulay Fred Akpan are God-fearing youngmen who will not allow their  personal interest to be cloud the collective wish and interest of the people of the ward”, the royal father stated.
Chief Ukpe listed the past Councilors of the Ward to include; Late Friday Okon Ukpe- Ikot Obong, Late Chief A. A. Idiong- Abak Ikot and Mr. Mfon Moses Ekanem- Ikot Obong. According to him, Mr Mfon Moses Ekanem also contested and won for Ikot Ebak Village.
Others are; Iko Enobong Ebong- Utu Edem Akai, Mr. Friday Etuk- Ikot Ekang, Dr. Innocent Idiong- Abak Ikot, Mr. Uwem Okon John- Ikot Ebak and Mr. Godwin Okon – Obiobom leaving only Abak Itenge Village.

No comments:

Post a Comment