Tuesday, 16 May 2017

Uniuyo Students excel in NUGA games

A total of 52 Athletes from the University of Uyo have been successful in the Nigerian University Games Association (NUGA) held in Markurdi, Benue State, and awarded 15 Medals in different categories of sport. 

Presenting the Medals to the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Enefiok E. Essien, Tuesday, May 02, the Director, Committee on Sports, University of Uyo, Prof. Ini Jonah, who broke the cheery news when he led the victorious participants on a courtesy visit to the Vice-Chancellor, appreciated and thanked the management for their support to participate in the NUGA games. 

Prof. Jonah intimated the Vice-Chancellor that the Directorate of Sports was faced with challenges, he appealed for more coaches to be recruited in some sports and advised that admission in the University for Sportsmen and women should be highly considered.  Prof. Jonah also suggested that the Vice-Chancellor should create time to receive all the athletes. 

The Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Enefiok Essien, congratulated the victorious students for their success in the games and commended them for the spirit of oneness.  Prof. Essien expressed happiness in the participation especially in scrabble where the students excelled very well.  He informed the students that their names will be published in the University books of honour for bringing honour to the University. 

The highlight of the courtesy visit were decoration of the Vice-Chancellor with a gold medal and presentation of scrabble to the most valuable player in scrabble  (male and female) to Joel-Elvis Emmanuel, Department of Public Administration and Dorathy Etim, Department of Sociology and Anthropology respectively. 

Students who attended the courtesy visit were: Kingsley Joseph, Marketing; Nsidibe Bassey, Music; Anietie Eseme, Geoinformatic and Surveying; Asuquo Asuquo, Agric Engineering; Uyo-Obong Edem, Mechanical Engineering; David Eka, Political Science and Public Administration; Igbinovia Michael, Computer Engineering; Utibe Precious, English; Oluwsaseun Olasimbo, Accounting; Eyere Ewa, Godswill Obot, Ikanke Sylvanus, Physical and Health Education.  

The University Management members were:  Registrar and Secretary to Senate, Mr. Aniediabasi Udofia; Director, Quality Assurance, Mrs. Mfonobong Umobong; Dean, Student Affairs Dr. (Mrs.) Isongesit Solomon. 

From the Directorate of Sports were: Director of Sports, Dr. Franz Atare; Chief Coach, Mrs. Dorathy  Asangausung; Chief Coach Badminton, Chief Tony Udom.

No comments:

Post a Comment