Thursday, 4 January 2018

Odoro Enen lifts Idung Iniang unity trophy

The 2017 edition of Mbre Sam Mbre (Idung Iniang) Unity Cup football Competition in Eket local government area ended with Odoro Enen Football team emerging the overall winners.
In an explosive final match which took place on Sunday, 31st December, 2017 at Primary School, Idung Iniang Odoro Enen defeated Ikot Udoma by 5-4 on penalty shootout after a goalless full time score-line.
The kick-off of the final match which was watched by a full capacity crowd was performed by Mr. Ubong Udonsek.
In the third place match played earlier in the day, Ofriyo defeated Afia Nsit by 5-4 on penalty shoot-out after the match had ended 1-1 at regulation time.
In his speech, the sponsor of the competition, Mr. Marshall Mbre, expressed gratitude to God for the successful hosting of the competition.
Mr. Mbre commended the Local Organizing Committee (LOC) for staging a hitch-free competition and lauded the participating teams for the high standard recorded during the competition.
The former Mobil Pegasus of Eket Star thanked the people of the community and friends of the area for coming out in large numbers to watch the final match.
He stated that the main aim of sponsoring the football competition was not to showcase wealth, but to bring the people of the community together and to discover hidden football talents abound in the area.
Mbre said he will be happy to see players from the community playing professional football in Europe and any of the country’s National teams.
He promised to introduce new innovations that will make the competition bigger and better in 2018, pointing out that his Football Academy, Flying Sports in Eket was established to groom and nurture footballers to become future stars.
Mbre assured that players who distinguished themselves during the competition will be drafted to his Academy in Lagos.
At the end of the final match, the winners, Odoro Enen football team went home with a giant trophy and a cash prize of N50,000, runners-up, Ikot Udoma smiled home with a cash prize of N30,000, third place team, Ofriyo got N25,000 for their effort while the fourth place team, Afia Nsit got a consolation prize of N10,000.
Awards were given to the Best Coach, Samuel Okon Williams, Overall most Valuable Player (MVP), Roland Mbre, Best Keeper-Eddiong Anietie and Highest Goal-keeper, Bassey Samuel.
Some personalities who have contributed in one way or the other to the development of sports in the community were presented with Excellence Award.  Those honoured were; Mr. Ubong Udonsek who doubled all the prize money and also donated N100,000 to the Local Organizing Committee (LOC). Others were; Engr. Tommy Tommy, Chief Joseph Tom Harry, Mr. Daniel Charlie Sampson and Engr. Bassey Benjamin Ekwere.
The awardees thanked the Local Organizing Committee for the honour done them and commended the sponsor, Mr. Marshall Mbre for his selfless contribution to the development of the community in particular and humanity at large.

No comments:

Post a Comment