Tuesday, 24 November 2015

OkoboTransition Chair inaugurates committees, warns staff

The Okobo Transition Committee Chairman, Mr. Atta Okon Atta has warned staff in the council against poor attitude to work, calling for a change even as he inaugurated three committees.
Inaugurating the committees for Recovery of Government Property; Housing Estate and Security Village; and Committee on Staff Attitude to Work of the three committees last Thursday at the Council Hall, Okopedi, Mr. Atta condemned the attitude of civil servants and political office holders who after their transfer or tenure of office still keep back government property, particularly vehicles, saying that his administration will no longer take it lightly with those concerned.
On the occupation of state government housing estate and security village by unauthorized persons in the area, he said government will not hesitate to eject illegal occupants once the Committee report was out, while the authorized ones will be made to sign tenancy agreement as well as pay rents to the Council.        
Charging the committee members to take their assignments seriously and consider it a challenge, he assured staff of the council of his administration’s desire to attend to their welfare needs. 
Responding for the Committees, Mr.Etim Ekerendu assured the Council Chairman of their readiness to deliver on their assignment and solicited the co-operation of all stakeholders.  
Also speaking, the Head of Local Government Service, Mrs. Margaret Akpanim Ekpe reiterated staff readiness to co-operate and work together with the local administration for optimum service delivery. 
The Committee for Recovery of Government Property headed by the Supervisor for Works, Mr. Okon Nyong Ante, has Engr. Uwem Esebom, Mr.Ita Okon Ben, Mr. Okon Effiong Uweh, Mr.Godwin Ukpong as members while Mr.Okokon Onuntuei, the transport officer, will serve as Secretary. The Committee has the responsibility of recovering government property in possession of transfered civil servants and past political office holders. 
The Committee on Housing Estate and Security Village headed by the Director of Administration, Obong Killian Thompson has Mary Essang, Okon Ante, Victor Ibok, Godwin Ukpong, Abdulahi Babatunde(the SSS Officer) as members and Felicia George is to serve as Secretary. The Committee is to ascertain the legality or otherwise of occupants of the estate, the revenue accruing to the Council from the estate and the state of facilities at the estate.                             
The Committee on Staff Attitude to Work headed by the branch Chairman of NULGE, Mr. Etim Ekerendu has Mr. Maurice Edet, Mr.Ita Ben, Mr.Okon Uweh, Obong Killian Thompson as members while Helena Andem Etim is the Secretary. The Committee is to ensure that staff attend work regularly and promptly and commit themselves to their duties.     

No comments:

Post a Comment