Thursday, 26 December 2013

2015: Ika youths vow to support Akpabio

2015: Ika youths vow to support Akpabio

The youths of Ika Local Government Area have promised to support the senatorial ambition of Chief Godswill Akpabio whom they describe as the best candidate who will not forget Ika people when he is elected into the senate.

The youths bared their minds during a town hall meeting held at the council’s unity hall organized to address issues affecting them. The Chairman of the council, Saviour Eyikere, represented by his Vice, Hon. Tony Udo Usung described the Governor as the best candidate who will not let Ika people down when elected.

Also speaking at the event, the Ika local government adviser on politics, Hon. Marcus, MacDonald charged the youths to support the dispensation of Chief Saviour Eyikere whom he described as a man with the interest of the youths at heart. “The youths of this local government today have taken their stand in regards to who represents them come 2015 and whatever decision we take here today will be binding on all youths of Ika”.

Hon. MacDonald enjoined the youths to bury whatever differences they may have in order to move the local government forward stressing that without unity and peace, no community can witness any development. “Before we can move Ika forward, we must shift aside all political, religious and all other devices that have separated us over the years; it has not helped us in any way.” He pleaded.

In accordance, the youths promised to support Hon. Saviour Eyikere’s ambition in the next elections; expressing believe that he will work in the interest of the youth when he is elected. Earlier, the Council boss had decried the low number of Ika appointees at various offices in the state. He noted that at present, Ika local government cannot boost of a Commissioner and promised that the Governor, if solicited, will do something in that regard.

Others who spoke at the gathering included the Council Secretary, Hon. Imo Moses, Marshal Udosen, Barr. Uwemedimo Nwoko, Victor Udoete, Hon. Isreal Etukma, Barr. Etimbuk Akpanakpan amongst others. 

No comments:

Post a Comment