Thursday, 26 June 2014

Congress Of Former Legislators Gets Steering Committee

A Steering Committee to run the affairs of congress of former legislators in AkwaIbom State has been inaugurated.

The steering committee has Rt. Hon Ignatius Kevin Edet as chairman and Hon (Barr) Nse B. Ekanem as Secretary. Other members of the committee are Hon AdasiObolum, Rt. Hon Peter Linus Umoh, Hon (Mrs) Sarah Essikot, Hon (Sir) Joseph Umana and Hon (Barr) AniediNdem.

Inaugurating the committee, the speaker, AkwaIbom State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon (Elder) Samuel Ikon said the steering committee will run the affairs of the congress till election into various offices.

The speaker listed the term of reference of the committee to include the day to day running of the conference, the unification of the conference and to frame a bill that will take care of the welfare of former legislators.

While congratulating Members of the steering committee, the speaker pointed out that henceforth, no statement issued by any other person on behalf of the congress will be honoured anywhere in the state.

The speaker assured them that the 5th assembly will work hard to ensure that the proposed bill on the welfare of former lawmaker will be passed within the life span of the 5th assembly.

Responding, the chairman Rt. Hon Ignatius Kevin Edet thanked the speaker for finding the fit to lead the congress at this point in time.

He assured the speaker that the committee will discharge its duties without fear or favour saying his target will be to bring back allmembers into one fold and make the congress alive again saying within a month, the Bill will be ready.

No comments:

Post a Comment